# Schedule a Revocation Period for a Secure Zivver Message

## Introduction

This guide explains how to schedule a revocation period for secure messages sent with Zivver and manage Revoke Access settings.

Tip

**Do you want to revoke access to a message immediately?**

Read the instructions to immediately revoke access to a message in [Revoke access to a secure Zivver message immediately](https://docs.zivver.com/en/user/webapp/references/revoke-immediately.html).

Info

Revoking a message removes access to it from the Zivver inboxes of all recipients, including those in **BCC**.

Access revocation serves two main purposes:

- To withdraw a message sent in error.
- To comply with laws or organizational policies that require messages not to be stored indefinitely.

Warning

**Revoke for recipients and myself** will make the message permanently inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the revocation period expires. Recovery is not possible.

## Setting the Revocation period when creating a new message

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Click the  New message button.

_A new window appears with your new message._
3. Add recipients, content, and attachments as usual.
4. Click the **Revoke access** icon.

_A new window appears, explaining revocation options._
5. Choose one of the following options:
   - **Don't revoke**: No revocation period is set, and the message will not be revoked.
   - **Revoke for recipients**: All recipients lose access to the message.
   - **Revoke for recipients and myself**: All recipients, as well as yourself, lose access to the message.

Warning

If you choose **Revoke for recipients and myself**, the message becomes inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

6. Set a revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector. The default may vary based on your organization’s settings.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._
7. Confirm your choices by clicking Save.

_You return to the message window, and the revocation icon gets a checkmark . A rounded period will be displayed behind the revocation icon._
8. Click Send to send the message securely.

_Recipients will see a banner indicating the revocation period._

## Canceling Revocation settings for a sent message

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or orange banner showing the revocation period._
3. Click Edit settings in the message pane.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
4. Select **Don't revoke** to cancel the revocation settings.
5. Click Save.

_The blue or orange banner above the message header disappears, and access to the message will no longer be revoked._

## Changing the Revocation period for a sent message

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or orange banner showing the revocation period._
3. Click Edit settings in the message pane.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
4. Adjust the revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._

_OR_

Click the **Revoke now** link to revoke the message immediately.

_A notification confirms the immediate revocation._
5. Confirm your changes by clicking Save (or Revoke now for immediate revocation).

_The updated revocation settings are applied._

## Setting the Revocation period for a sent message

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.
3. Click the  Actions button of the message you want to set a revocation period for.
4. Click **Revoke access**.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
5. Select whether you want to **Revoke for recipients and myself** or **Revoke for recipients**.

Warning

6. Set a new revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector. The default may vary based on your organization’s settings.

_OR_

Click **Revoke now** to revoke the message immediately.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._
7. Confirm your changes by clicking Save (or Revoke now for immediate revocation).

_The updated revocation settings are applied, and the banner above the message header reflects the new revocation period._

## Restoring access to a revoked message

Warning

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a greyed-out look and blue banner indicating it was revoked._
3. Click Restore access in the message pane.

_A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become accessible again._
4. Confirm your choice by clicking Restore.

_The greyed-out look and blue banner disappear, and the message is accessible to recipients again._

Updated on 2026-06-18
