Schedule a Revocation Period for a Secure Zivver Message

Schedule a Revocation Period for a Secure Zivver Message

Introduction

This guide explains how to schedule a revocation period for secure messages sent with Zivver and manage Revoke Access settings.

Tip

Do you want to revoke access to a message immediately?

Read the instructions to immediately revoke access to a message in Revoke access to a secure Zivver message immediately.

Info

Revoking a message removes access to it from the Zivver inboxes of all recipients, including those in BCC.

Access revocation serves two main purposes:

Warning

Revoke for recipients and myself will make the message permanently inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the revocation period expires. Recovery is not possible.

Setting the Revocation period when creating a new message

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Click the New message button.

A new window appears with your new message. 3. Add recipients, content, and attachments as usual. 4. Click the Revoke access icon.

A new window appears, explaining revocation options. 5. Choose one of the following options:

Warning

If you choose Revoke for recipients and myself, the message becomes inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

  1. Set a revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector. The default may vary based on your organization’s settings.

The revocation date updates based on the selected period. 7. Confirm your choices by clicking Save.

You return to the message window, and the revocation icon gets a checkmark . A rounded period will be displayed behind the revocation icon. 8. Click Send to send the message securely.

Recipients will see a banner indicating the revocation period.

Canceling Revocation settings for a sent message

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.

The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or orange banner showing the revocation period. 3. Click Edit settings in the message pane.

A new window titled Revoke access to this message appears. 4. Select Don't revoke to cancel the revocation settings. 5. Click Save.

The blue or orange banner above the message header disappears, and access to the message will no longer be revoked.

Changing the Revocation period for a sent message

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.

The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or orange banner showing the revocation period. 3. Click Edit settings in the message pane.

A new window titled Revoke access to this message appears. 4. Adjust the revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector.

The revocation date updates based on the selected period.

OR

Click the Revoke now link to revoke the message immediately.

A notification confirms the immediate revocation. 5. Confirm your changes by clicking Save (or Revoke now for immediate revocation).

The updated revocation settings are applied.

Setting the Revocation period for a sent message

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.
  3. Click the Actions button of the message you want to set a revocation period for.
  4. Click Revoke access.

A new window titled Revoke access to this message appears. 5. Select whether you want to Revoke for recipients and myself or Revoke for recipients.

Warning

  1. Set a new revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector. The default may vary based on your organization’s settings.

OR

Click Revoke now to revoke the message immediately.

The revocation date updates based on the selected period. 7. Confirm your changes by clicking Save (or Revoke now for immediate revocation).

The updated revocation settings are applied, and the banner above the message header reflects the new revocation period.

Restoring access to a revoked message

Warning

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.

The message appears in the rightmost pane with a greyed-out look and blue banner indicating it was revoked. 3. Click Restore access in the message pane.

A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become accessible again. 4. Confirm your choice by clicking Restore.

The greyed-out look and blue banner disappear, and the message is accessible to recipients again.

Updated on 2026-06-18