# Revoke Access to a Secure Zivver Message immediately

## Introduction

This guide explains how to immediately revoke access to secure messages sent with Zivver.

Info

Revoking a message removes access to it from the Zivver inboxes of all recipients, including those in **BCC**.

Access revocation serves two main purposes:

- To withdraw a message sent in error.
- To comply with laws or organizational policies that require messages not to be stored indefinitely.

Warning

Messages revoked for **Everyone** become permanently inaccessible to both the recipients and the sender after the revocation period expires. Recovery is not possible.

The sections below explain how to revoke access to a message immediately, including:

- Revoking access to a message immediately when a revocation period is set.
- Revoking access to a message immediately when no revocation period is set.

You can recognize a message with a revocation period by the banner at the top of the message. If you don’t see this banner, the message does not have a revocation period.

## Revoking access to a message immediately for a message with a Revocation period

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or red banner showing the revocation period._
3. Click Edit settings in the message pane.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
4. Click the **Revoke now** link to revoke the message immediately.

_A notification confirms the immediate revocation._
5. Select whether you want to revoke access for **Revoke for recipients and myself** or **Revoke for recipients**.

Warning

If you choose **Revoke for recipients and myself**, the message becomes inaccessible to both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

6. Confirm your changes by clicking Revoke now.

_The updated revocation settings are applied._

## Revoking access to a message immediately for a message without a Revocation period

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.
3. Click the  Actions of the message you want to revoke.
4. Click **Revoke access**.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
5. Click the **Revoke now** link to revoke the message immediately.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._
6. Select whether you want to revoke access for **Revoke for recipients and myself** or **Revoke for recipients**.

Warning

7. Confirm your changes by clicking Revoke now.

_The updated revocation settings are applied, and the banner above the message header reflects the new revocation period._

## Restoring access to a revoked message

Warning

Messages **Revoke for recipients and myself** are inaccessible to both the recipients and the sender. Recovery is not possible.

1. Log in to the [WebApp](https://app.zivver.com/).
2. Select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a greyed-out look and a light blue banner indicating it was revoked._
3. Click Restore access in the message pane.

_A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become accessible again._
4. Confirm your choice by clicking Restore.

_The greyed-out look and the light blue banner disappear, and the message becomes accessible to recipients again._

Updated on 2026-06-18
