Revoke Access to a Secure Zivver Message immediately

Revoke Access to a Secure Zivver Message immediately

Introduction

This guide explains how to immediately revoke access to secure messages sent with Zivver.

Info

Revoking a message removes access to it from the Zivver inboxes of all recipients, including those in BCC.

Access revocation serves two main purposes:

Warning

Messages revoked for Everyone become permanently inaccessible to both the recipients and the sender after the revocation period expires. Recovery is not possible.

The sections below explain how to revoke access to a message immediately, including:

You can recognize a message with a revocation period by the banner at the top of the message. If you don’t see this banner, the message does not have a revocation period.

Revoking access to a message immediately for a message with a Revocation period

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.

The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or red banner showing the revocation period. 3. Click Edit settings in the message pane.

A new window titled Revoke access to this message appears. 4. Click the Revoke now link to revoke the message immediately.

A notification confirms the immediate revocation. 5. Select whether you want to revoke access for Revoke for recipients and myself or Revoke for recipients.

Warning

If you choose Revoke for recipients and myself, the message becomes inaccessible to both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

  1. Confirm your changes by clicking Revoke now.

The updated revocation settings are applied.

Revoking access to a message immediately for a message without a Revocation period

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.
  3. Click the Actions of the message you want to revoke.
  4. Click Revoke access.

A new window titled Revoke access to this message appears. 5. Click the Revoke now link to revoke the message immediately.

The revocation date updates based on the selected period. 6. Select whether you want to revoke access for Revoke for recipients and myself or Revoke for recipients.

Warning

  1. Confirm your changes by clicking Revoke now.

The updated revocation settings are applied, and the banner above the message header reflects the new revocation period.

Restoring access to a revoked message

Warning

Messages Revoke for recipients and myself are inaccessible to both the recipients and the sender. Recovery is not possible.

  1. Log in to the WebApp.
  2. Select the message.

The message appears in the rightmost pane with a greyed-out look and a light blue banner indicating it was revoked. 3. Click Restore access in the message pane.

A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become accessible again. 4. Confirm your choice by clicking Restore.

The greyed-out look and the light blue banner disappear, and the message becomes accessible to recipients again.

Updated on 2026-06-18