# Schedule a Revocation Period for a Secure Zivver Message

## Introduction

This guide explains how to schedule a revocation period for secure messages sent with Zivver and manage Revoke Access settings.

Tip  
**Do you want to revoke access to a message immediately?**  
Read the instructions to immediately revoke access to a message in [Revoke access to a secure Zivver message immediately](https://docs.zivver.com/en/user/officeplugin/references/revoke-immediately.html).

Info  
Revoking a message removes access to it from the Zivver inboxes of all recipients, including those in **CC** and **BCC**.

Access revocation serves two main purposes:

- To withdraw a message sent in error.
- To comply with laws or organizational policies that require messages not to be stored indefinitely.

Warning  
Messages revoked for **EVERYONE** become permanently inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the revocation period expires. Recovery is not possible.

## Setting the Revocation period when creating a new message

1. Click **New email** in the Outlook ribbon.

_A new window appears with your new message._
2. Add recipients, content and attachments as usual.
3. Click the **toggle** _toggle_off_ to enable secure mailing.
4. Click the Revoke access _history_ icon.

_A new window appears, explaining revocation options._
5. Toggle the **Revoke access** setting by clicking _toggle_off_.

_This enables the revocation settings for the message._
6. Choose one of the following options:

- **Recipients**: All recipients lose access to the message.
   - **EVERYONE**: All recipients, as well as yourself lose access to the message

Warning  
If you choose **EVERYONE**, the message becomes inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

7. Set a revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector. The default is 30 days, but this may vary based on your organization’s settings.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._
8. Click SAVE.

_A confirmation pop-up appears._
9. Confirm your choices by clicking CONFIRM.

_You return to the message window, and a green checkmark appears next to the revocation icon. Hover over the icon to see the revocation date._
10. Click **Send** to send the message securely.

_Recipients will see a banner indicating the revocation period._

## Canceling Revocation settings for a sent message

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or light orange banner showing the revocation period._
2. Click **EDIT SETTINGS** in the message pane.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
3. Toggle off the revocation setting by clicking _toggle_on_.

_The toggle is grayed out, and revocation options are disabled._
4. Click SAVE.

_A confirmation window appears._
5. Confirm your changes by clicking CONFIRM.

_The blue or orange banner above the message header disappears, and access to the message is no longer revoked._

## Changing the Revocation period for a sent message

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
3. Adjust the revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._

_OR_

Click **NOW** to revoke the message immediately.

_A notification confirms the immediate revocation._
4. Click SAVE.

_A confirmation window appears._
5. Confirm your changes by clicking CONFIRM.

_The updated revocation settings are applied._

## Setting the Revocation period for a sent message

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.
2. Click the three dot menu _more_vert_ of the message you want to set a Revocation Period for.
3. Click _history_ **Revoke access**.

_A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
4. Enable the **Revoke Access** setting by toggling _toggle_off_ to _toggle_on_.

_This activates the revocation settings for the message._
5. Set a new revocation period using the input box and drop-down selector. The default is 30 days, but this may vary based on your organization’s settings.

_OR_

Click **NOW** to revoke the message immediately.

_The revocation date updates based on the selected period._
6. Click SAVE.

_A confirmation window appears._
7. Confirm your changes by clicking CONFIRM.

_The updated revocation settings are applied, and the banner above the message header reflects the new revocation period._

## Restoring access to a revoked message

Warning  
Messages revoked for **EVERYONE** becomes inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.

_The message appears in the rightmost pane with a greyed-out banner indicating it was revoked._
2. Click **RESET ACCESS** in the message pane.

_A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become accessible again._
3. Confirm your choice by clicking CONFIRM.

_The greyed-out banner disappears, and the message is accessible to recipients again._

Updated on 2026-06-18
