# Revoke Access to a Secure Zivver Message immediately

## Introduction

This guide explains how to immediately revoke the access to secure messages sent with Zivver.

Revoking a message removes access to it from the Zivver inboxes of all recipients, including those in **CC** and **BCC**.

Access revocation serves two main purposes:

- To withdraw a message sent in error.
- To comply with laws or organizational policies that require messages not to be stored indefinitely.

Messages revoked for **EVERYONE** become permanently inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the revocation period expires. Recovery is not possible.

The sections below explain how to revoke access to a message immediately, including:

- Revoking access to a message immediately for a message with a revocation period.
- Revoking access to a message immediately for a message without a revocation period.

You can recognize a message with a revocation period by the banner on top of the message. If you don’t see this banner, the message does not have a revocation period.

## Revoking access to a message immediately for a message with a Revocation period

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.
   
   _The message appears in the rightmost pane with a light blue or light orange banner showing the revocation period._
2. Click **EDIT SETTINGS** in the message pane.
   
   _A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
3. Click **NOW** to revoke the message immediately.
   
   _A notification confirms the immediate revocation._
4. Select if you want to revoke access for **EVERYONE** or **Recipients**.

If you choose **EVERYONE**, the message becomes inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

5. Click SAVE.
   
   _A confirmation window appears._
6. Confirm your changes by clicking CONFIRM.
   
   _The updated revocation settings are applied._

## Revoking access to a message immediately for a message without a Revocation period

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.
2. Click the three dot menu _more_vert_ of the message you want to revoke.
3. Click _history_ **Revoke access**.
   
   _A new window titled **Revoke access to this message** appears._
4. Enable the **Revoke Access** setting by toggling _toggle_off_ to _toggle_on_.
   
   _This activates the revocation settings for the message._
5. Click **NOW** to revoke the message immediately.
   
   _The revocation date updates based on the selected period._
6. Select if you want to revoke access for **EVERYONE** or **Recipients**.

If you choose **EVERYONE**, the message becomes inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender after the set period. Recovery is not possible.

7. Click SAVE.
   
   _A confirmation window appears._
8. Confirm your changes by clicking CONFIRM.
   
   _The updated revocation settings are applied, and the banner above the message header reflects the new revocation period._

## Restoring access to a revoked message

Messages revoked for **EVERYONE** are inaccessible for both the recipients and the sender. Recovery is not possible.

1. Open your **Sent items** folder and select the message.
   
   _The message appears in the rightmost pane with a greyed-out banner indicating it was revoked._
2. Click **RESET ACCESS** in the message pane.
   
   _A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become accessible again._
3. Confirm your choice by clicking CONFIRM.
   
   _The greyed-out banner disappears, and the message is accessible to recipients again._

Updated on 2026-06-18
