08. Synctool Syncing

08. Synctool Syncing

Introduction

This section describes how to map your users, adjust synchronization options, view the delta between your organization in Zivver and your source, preview pending changes, and review completed updates. These functions are grouped under the Syncing tab in the Synctool user interface.

Account Mapping

Zivver needs to map users from your source to the corresponding Zivver accounts so that any changes are made to the correct accounts. In Zivver, the Internal ID is used to identify accounts.

By default, users’ email addresses are used as internal identifiers. However, if a user’s email address changes, this identifier becomes incorrect, leading to synchronization errors.

To prevent this, you can configure the Synctool to use a user account property that—unlike the email address—does not change. Using a fixed account property prevents synchronization errors when a user’s email address changes, for example, after a marriage or divorce.

This mapping information is not uploaded to Zivver. Therefore, it must be stored locally.

Tip

Storage location best practice

It’s best practice to store the Account Mapping in the same location as the Synctool. For example, if the Synctool is stored at C:\Program Files\Zivver.Synctool, create a folder called Account Mapping, and save the Account Mapping in C:\Program Files\Zivver.Synctool\Account Mapping.

Synchronization Options

At Synchronization Options, you define what actions the Synctool performs during synchronization.

Personal account sync options

Functional account sync options

Info

Status of functional accounts shown in WebApp

The Accounts page in the WebApp continues to show suspended functional accounts as Active. However, there are no active delegations to these accounts, meaning users cannot log in to the functional mailbox.

Delete options for users and functional accounts (manual sync only)

Tip

Use delete options together

Use Delete all users that are suspended in Zivver together with Only delete accounts (functional or users) not present in sources.

If your organization suspends users for a period before deleting them from your source, combining these two options prevents Zivver accounts from being deleted while their Active Directory accounts still exist.

View Delta

At View delta between Source and Target, you can view the difference (i.e., delta) between Zivver (Target) and your source data.

View Delta consists of several tabs showing tables with users or functional accounts that can be changed in Zivver based on information from your sources.

Tip

View detailed changes

Double-click any account row to view detailed information about the changes, including the data received from Zivver and from your source(s).

Click Export data to export all tab data from View delta into an .xlsx file.

Click Reload Data if you have modified your source and want to refresh the View delta information.

Preview Changes

The Preview changes next synchronization option shows whether the proposed changes would be successful.

Preview Changes consists of several tabs showing tables with users or functional accounts that were part of the trial run.

Tip

View detailed information

Double-click any account row to view details of the trial run.

Click Export data to export all tab data from Preview changes into an .xlsx file.

Click Reload Data if you have modified your source and want to rerun the preview.

Review Updates

At Review changes made during last update, you can review the results of the last manual synchronization.

Review Updates consists of several tabs showing tables with users or functional accounts that were synchronized.

Tip

View detailed information

Double-click any account row to view synchronization details.

Click Export data to export all tab data from Review Updates into an .xlsx file.

Updated on 2026-07-03